Ladles

I’ve finished three new ladles from cherry wood as a request. The curve of the wood occurred near the flared base of the tree, and I was able to split several blanks for spoons, each with a slightly different angle to the curve. As the tree had already been cut into short lengths by a city work crew, they seemed a bit short as ladles. I solved this by adding a decorative end of teak that makes a nice contrast in colour. The joint was both pegged and glued, and the finished pieces given a coat of beeswax, carnauba and mineral oil.dsc09939dsc09934

2 responses to “Ladles

  1. Hi Martin
    I love your spoons and would like to purchase some to send to UK for my relatives, I like to support local artists for any gifts I send.
    I will come and find you at the Culture Crawl this year, but can you give me an idea of the prices of your spoons so I can decide how many I can purchase?

    Thanks so much

    Jane

Leave a Reply

